Five Hopkins students recognized at 2020 Caring Youth Awards

The annual Caring Youth Recognition banquet celebrates youth in the community who have given outstanding service to other organizations in the area.
February 25, 2020

Several Hopkins students were honored at the Caring Youth Awards on Feb. 20. The annual event, held at the Minnetonka Community Center, celebrates youth in the community who have given outstanding service to organizations in the area.

This year, 19 students were honored for their selfless service to their community — five of them from Hopkins Public Schools.

“The future of our communities — and our world — is in great hands with these student leaders and others like them making a difference every day,” said Andrea Sjogren, Hopkins adult and youth programs coordinator.

This year’s keynote speaker was Al Nuness, a retired vice president of Jostens Sports Sales and former collegiate basketball star. In his retirement, he works as a supervisory para and student mentor for the Invictus group at Hopkins High School. Nuness is also an avid fan of all Hopkins sports. He is a huge supporter of the Hopkins community. Following his speech, student honorees were recognized for their outstanding community service. 

Civic and service organizations, schools, and faith community members in Golden Valley, Hopkins and Minnetonka communities nominated the recipients. The Caring Youth Recognition event is a collaborative effort among the cities of Hopkins, Golden Valley, and Minnetonka, the Minnetonka and Hopkins school districts, and the Glen Lake Optimists of Minnetonka.

2020 Hopkins Caring Youth recipients

Sydney Spears, Golden Valley Library
Ryan Keller, Read Indeed
Najma Ahmed, Hopkins Schools Change to Chill Club, Educational Services Advisory Committee
Tyler Sweers, Minnetonka United Methodist Church
Addie McGrath, YMCA of the Greater Twin Cities
John Manning, ICA Food Shelf
Mabel Chovan-Aziz, ICA Food Shelf
Hope Leslie, Minnetonka HS Adaptive Science
Will VanHercke, Minnetonka Police Explorers
Lizzy Wittrock, ICA Food Shelf
Katelyn Hermanson, Betsy Holmes, Karsten Johnson, Annie Keenan, Benjamin LeSage, William Manning, Sean Omara, Julianna Torelli, Minnetonka Community Ed
Claire Wilcox, Stepping Stones Preschool

*Names in bold are from Hopkins Public Schools.

Hopkins News Archive