Candidate Forum 2020

2020 (virtual) Candidate Forum videos can be viewed now!

Virtual Candidate Forum 

Saturday, September 26, 2020

The 2020 elections will be more important than ever for Minnesota schools, students, parents, and teachers. Every seat in the Minnesota Senate and House of Representatives is up for reelection, with 24 candidates seeking to represent the Hopkins Public Schools district.


In order to understand the candidates' perspectives on education, the Hopkins Legislative Action Coalition (LAC) hosted a virtual Candidate Forum on September 26, 2020. The 5 Senate districts were divided by time slot and live-streamed on Facebook Live, and recorded. 

State Senate District 44

Ann Johnson Stewart (DFL)

Greg Pulles (R)


State Representative District 44B

Patty Acomb (DFL)

Gary Porter (R)


State Senate District 45

Ann Rest (DFL)

Roxana Bruins (R)

Andrew Schuler (LMN)


State Representative District 45B

Mike Freiberg (DFL)

Ken Fitzgerald (R)


State Senate District 48

Steve Cwodzinski (DFL)

Jeff Jiang (R)


State Representative District 48A

Laurie Pryor (DFL)

Eric Wessels (R)


State Senate District 49

Melisa Lopez Franzen (DFL)

Julie Dupré (R)


 State Representative District 49A

Heather Edelson (DFL)


State Representative District 49B

Steve Elkins (DFL)

Joe Thalman (R)


State Senate District 46

Ron Latz (DFL)

Bryan Björnson (R)


State Representative District 46A

Ryan Winkler (DFL)

Anne Taylor (R)


State Representative District 46B

Cheryl Youakim (DFL)

Melissa Moore (R)